French Institutes for Advanced Study Fellowship Program (2025-26)

The French Institutes for Advanced Study Fellowship Program offers 10-month fellowships in the seven institutes located in Aix-Marseille, Loire Valley, Lyon, Montpellier, Nantes, Paris, and Rennes. It encourages applications from top-tier foreign academics and researchers, particularly in the social sciences and humanities (SSH). All SSH disciplines as well as all research areas are eligible for the call. Projects from other scientific disciplines that engage in cross-disciplinary conversation with SSH are also acceptable.

Host CountryFrance
Host InstitueOne of the 7 institutes listed below
Eligible CountriesAll Nations
No.of Scholarships 40
Duration 10 months
Eligible FieldsAll research fields
Age LimitNo age limit
Opening DateJuly 2024
Closing DateTBA
Summary of French Institutes for Advanced Study Fellowship Program

French Institutes for Advanced Study Program

The French Institutes for Advanced Study (FIAS) program aims to provide funding for creative research in the humanities and social sciences by establishing a network of institutes. Spread throughout numerous French cities, including Paris, Lyon, Marseille, Montpellier, and Nantes, these institutes provide a vibrant academic environment that encourages international scholars to pursue innovative projects. Fostering intellectual exchange and expanding knowledge across a range of fields is the aim of the FIAS initiative.

French Institutes for Advanced Study Fellowship Program Details

Postdoctoral researchers can apply for FIAS Fellowships from the French Institutes for Advanced Study (FIAS) to work in France on a variety of research projects. Seven institutions make up the FIAS network, which has offices in Paris, Lyon, Marseille, Montpellier, Rennes, Loire Valley, and Nantes. Researchers from all over the world can work in a multidisciplinary atmosphere at these institutes.

French Institutes for Advanced Study Fellowship Program Details
French Institutes for Advanced Study Fellowship Program Details

Outstanding researchers who have just finished their doctoral studies are targeted by the very selective FIAS awards. The scholarships offer financial support for one academic year, during which time recipients are expected to work on their research projects and take an active part in the institute’s scientific pursuits.

Candidates must have received their PhD within the previous five years in order to be considered for the FIAS scholarships. They must also exhibit good research skills and submit a creative research proposal that fits with the institute they are applying to scientific aims. Although having some understanding of French can be useful depending on the institute, fluency in English is typically essential.

Research proposals, academic records, letters of recommendation, and the potential impact of the research project are all carefully examined as part of the selection process for FIAS scholarships. It is vital to check the specific requirements of the institute you are interested in as each institute within the FIAS network has its application process and deadlines.

Host Institutes

A streamlined and straightforward application process for their highly sought-after scientific residencies was proposed by a coalition of the seven French Institutes for Advanced Study. All fields of study in the humanities and social sciences are eligible to apply for the seven IAS.

  • IMéRA Aix-Marseille
  • LE STUDIUM, Loire Valley (Orléans-Tours)
  • Collegium de Lyon, Lyon
  • Montpellier Advanced Knowledge Institute on Transitions (MAK’IT), Montpellier
  • Nantes Institute for Advanced Study, Nantes
  • Paris Institute for Advanced Studies, Paris
  • Centre for Unframed Thinking (CUT), Rennes

Benefits of the French Institutes for Advanced Study Fellowship Program

The support and favorable scientific environment provided by the IAS, which is distinguished by an interdisciplinary cohort of fellows and a tight relationship to the regional research potential, will be advantageous to the Fellows. The fellows will be allowed to set up their work and carry out their research as they see fit.

A minimum net living allowance of €2,700 per month, which is the same as take-home pay will be given to every fellow in the form of a work agreement, either through their home institutions or the IAS that is hosting the fellowship. Depending on the contractual option selected, arrangements will be made according to the fellow’s unique situation and interests.


Outstanding researchers at all career stages, from postdoctoral researchers to senior scientists, are given FIAS fellowships. A PhD and two years of research experience are the minimum requirements at the time of application. Scholars having a Master’s degree and six years of full-time research experience after receiving their degree will be given an exception (PhD training will not be taken into account for calculating experience).

The FIAS Fellowship Program accepts applications from researchers from all nations, although they must have spent no more than 12 months in France in the three years preceding the application deadline.

FIAS Fellowship Program Timeline

The timeline starts from April up to June. Each academic year, fellowships start in September or October, depending on the host institute. The length of your stay, however, may be unusually discussed with the host institute.

Application Process

The FIAS website is the only place where the FIAS Fellowship Program application can be submitted. Users must register for an account by clicking the arrow that says “Create an Account” in the top right corner of the FIAS webpage. The FIAS Selection Committee preselects fellows once they submit their applications via a centralized application platform.

The requested application materials will only be available in English and will include:

  • filled-out online application
  • a full list of publications and a thorough curriculum vitae
  • a copy of the certificate
  • A thorough research proposal (five pages maximum, plus a bibliography of one additional page)
  • 3-5 publications (articles or book chapters) chosen for consideration
  • A letter of interest or support from the local scientific partner of an IAS is only required and requested for Le Studium (Loire Valley IAS), Collegium de Lyon, MAK’IT (Montpellier IAS), and Paris IAS.
  • Optional: Two endorsement letters, maximum

Apply here for the French Institutes for Advanced Study Fellowship Program.

Brunel Medical School International Scholarships for MBBS Candidates, London, England

Fully Funded UNSW Research Scholarships in Australia

Brunel University London Scholarships in England

University of Debrecen International Scholarship for Undergraduate/Graduate Students

Japanese Government MEXT Research Scholarship Program for International Students